Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Remembered Today:

Details of War Service

Guest fluffycat

Guest fluffycat

Hi everyone. I'm totally new to all this.

Am trying to find which battalions and war service records and actions for the following 2 people:

My great uncle and my grandfather.

Pte. Frederick William Branston. No. 3352 46th Company Machine Gun Corps Infantry K.I.A. 01/06/1916

Previouly 3/21244 Leicestershire Regiment. With the low MGC number would he have been one of the first to be in this new unit.

Pte. Walter Harding. No. 40469. South Staffordshire Regiment (survived the war)

Apparently they were school pals and enlisted together at either Melton Mowbray, Leicester, Loughborough or Grantham, I think around July 1915. Fred was only 16 and Walter only 17 years old.

I got this info. from the MIC's for both people, but nothing else is listed.

Can anyone kindly enlighten me?

Can anybody kindly give me more detailed info. from war diaries or other sources ?

Welcome to the forum

The Medal Index Cards are only a start; they reference to medal rolls (held at the National Archives, Kew) which often show battalion number. You have a lot of research ahead of you, have you read the reseasrching a soldier section of the Long Long Trail web site? As Frederick William Branston was Killed in Action you should use the Commonwealth War Graves Commission web site for more details.

triumph

Frederick's service history will be much easier to piece together. The 46th MGC Coy was attached to the 46th Brigade of the 15th (Scottish) Division as of 11th February 1916.

As you point out by his service number he would have been transferred from the Leics Regiment in September/October 1915.

There are casualties from the 46th MGC Company very close to Frederick's number including another 1st July one (not the Somme) and these can be searched using Geoff's search engine:

http://www.hut-six.co.uk/cgi-bin/search2.php

Regards

Mel