Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Remembered Today:

YEOVIL AND THE SOMERSET LIGHT INFANTRY

somerset

I am currently researching members of the Somerset Light Infantry who came from YEOVIL in Somerset, and certain surounding villages, who died on the Western Front. I am interested to hear from anybody who may be related to the men that I am researching,any information about them would be greatly appreciated, thanks Nick

Welcome to the Forum, Rock ape. I am currently researching the memorial in Wells. I don't know if you will find any relatives of the men you are researching on this Forum but there are people here who have a great deal of knowledge where the SLI are concerned. How far advanced is your research?

Orson

Thank you for your reply, I have been researching on and off for nearly ten years. I have photocopied all entries from the "Western Gazette" relating to the caualties, and spent alot of time in the regimental records office in TAUNTON(very helpful staff),looking at battalion diaries etc, this place would be a goldmine for your research. I have visited and photographed many of the graves as well as areas relating to the SLI, especially around YPRES(Hooge,Plugstreet, Langemark,Armentieres etc) SOMME(Quadrilateral,Delville Wood),ARRAS(Roeux, Hyderabad Redoubt etc),LE CATEAU,CAMBRAI, and LE FERTE SOUS JOUARRE I have expanded my original research somewhat and have visited many cemeteries to pay respects to SLI casualties not associated with my research. I still have plenty to do, and I posted my request to try and find people who may have letters, or memorabelia relating to the people I am researching. I hope to put all my research into a book one day. I am sure that there will be areas of mutual interest with our research that we can assist each other with. Look forward to hearing from you in the future Nick