Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Remembered Today:

Bedfordshire WW1

Raster Scanning

I have been collecting images from WW1 for many years, I have a particular interested in views of my home town and county.
Naturally many feature the Scottish Division that dominated the area in the early days of the war.

I invite comments.
Cheers

Thanks for those photos. The Battalion I'm researching (5th Gordons) was in Bedford from August 1914 to May 1915, so I'm always interested in anything to do with that town. You asked for comments about the photos. I was interested in the mixture of uniforms of the men marching - civvies, trousers and kilts, so, taken early in the war I suppose. Do you have a date for it? Will you eventually add captions? Hope so.

I look forward to seeing others.

Carolyn

Melbourne

• 2 weeks later...

Hi - really great pictures.

I posted a fairly long reply to the original thread about these pictures before I found out they were here (it is under the units header in the thread about a funeral in Bedford). Apologies that reply would probably be better here.

I am very interested in the 4th Gordons with whom my great grandfather (Cpl James Stephen McDonald 1529) served (DOW 1919 he is buried in Bedford Cemetry, memorialised in All Saints Church Queens Park) in that post I indicated the source of some other photos of Bedford and the Gordons stay there.

Chris

I just had a bit of a closer look at the group picture, I am in no way an expert but a couple of observations

The tunics appear to be of varying patterns (with and without pocket pleats) I would guess the omission of pleats would be an austerity measure? Two different styles of headgear with and without diceing.