Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Remembered Today:

UNKNOWN Royal Sussex: Regina Trench Cemetery 6.D.19

laughton

There is an UNKNOWN British Soldier in Plot 6 Row D Grave 19 of the Regina Trench Cemetery, Grandcourt. I was re-checking the minute details of the COG-BR (Concentration / Burial Return) looking for a specific Canadian lad when I noticed a penned in note on page 2510563. On the 4th line from the top it says "R. Sussex SN 2197".

A check of the records tells me that that only possible candidate for this man is Private Ernest Fry #2199 of the 2nd Battalion who is named on the Thiepval Memorial. He is not on one of the panels that is currently being replaced. There are NO other R.S.R. men in that number sequence with an unknown grave.

EDIT May 29, 2016: See following post (#13) - the SN does not refer to Service Number or Serial Number - my mistake! icon_redface.gif

I am no expert on the British units but Chris's site tells me that would have been 2nd Brigade, 1st Division III Corps and the Royal Sussex would have been in that general area when he was killed on 17 August 1916. Is it possible that he was that far (5,000 yards) from Beaumont Hamel by that time? My guess would be no.

He was found in Sector R.10 of map 57d so that puts him just south of Miraumont, about 3,000 yards northwest of Courcelette. He was found in the same sector as Pte. Newman #60377 11th Royal Fusiliers and Pte. Fisk #15008 8th Suffolk, both of who were lost there in February 1917.

8n2x8qrzbr0uby16g.jpg

doc2510563.JPG

Edited by laughton
corrected grave from 6.D.21 to 6.D.19

Another candidate, if the first number was incorrect, is Pte.Robert William Pearce #4197 KIA 28 September 1916. Our Canadian boys were very active in the area at the time, but generally south of Regina Trench and R.10 is north of there by about 1,500 yards. Grandcourt Trench forms the southern border of R.10.