Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Remembered Today:

116th (Ontario County Infantry) Bn

jainvince

Various sources indicate that the above Battalion was in the vicinity of Monchy le Preu during late August 1918 (in particular Bois du Sart and Bois du Vert east of the village). According to two sources this Battalion was part of the 3rd Canadian Division.

Whilst I can find the diaries for this division, I cannot see a mention of the 116 Bn and for 27th August it shows NIL casualities although our local man - Pte J T Rogers is quoted by the CWGC as died on 27th August 1918. He may of course died of wounds and thus had been injured days earlier. As yet my searches haven't found the War Diary for 116 Bn. He is buried at VIS-EN-ARTOIS BRITISH CEMETERY, HAUCOURT in a plot which appears to have been concentrated here after the Armistice.

As I am not an expert on the Canadian's in WW1, can any pal help in resolving this quandary?

Bernard P

Various sources indicate that the above Battalion was in the vicinity of Monchy le Preu during late August 1918 (in particular Bois du Sart and Bois du Vert east of the village). According to two sources this Battalion was part of the 3rd Canadian Division.

Whilst I can find the diaries for this division, I cannot see a mention of the 116 Bn and for 27th August it shows NIL casualities although our local man - Pte J T Rogers is quoted by the CWGC as died on 27th August 1918. He may of course died of wounds and thus had been injured days earlier. As yet my searches haven't found the War Diary for 116 Bn. He is buried at VIS-EN-ARTOIS BRITISH CEMETERY, HAUCOURT in a plot which appears to have been concentrated here after the Armistice.

As I am not an expert on the Canadian's in WW1, can any pal help in resolving this quandary?

Bernard P

Hi Bernard P,