Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Remembered Today:

Photos of Kosturino and 10th Irish Div Memorial

roughdiamond

Hi All

I'm relatively new to this so please bear with me, I'd be interested to see photos of the Battle of Kosturino site, 10th Irish Div memorial if anyone has any, I've google imaged the memorial with no luck, my main interest is the 5th Connaught Rangers with whom my Great Uncle was killed serving with on 07/12/1915.

I'll enter his details on the soldiers forum.

Thanks in advance.

Thanks Simon the link worked perfectly and the photos are excellent.

Thanks

Sam

Hi Sam,

Try and look at Under the Devil's Eye by Alan Wakefield and I. Alan's chapter on the fighting at Kosturino is quite detailed. Incidentally, the village of Tartali where the 5th Connaughts spent some time prior to the battle still exists - it is pretty interesting.

The CO's diaries papers (Col Jourdain) and photos of the period are held here at the National Army Museum. Some of the pictures are also held by the IWM.

All the best

Simon

Hi Sam

You are in luck as there are a few excellent resources available (the best pictures are probably the link in the middle of this waffle but I thought I would point you at everything I have come across just in case!)

First is the link that Simon pointed you at - this is excellent for the secondary positions on Crete Rivet and Simonet

(Simon - I couldn't see the attached image - don't know if others can - was it the picture showing the troops in the trenches/sangars on the ridge or it something else?)

As Simon also says the IWM holds a number of period photos of the positions and some of the towns around them.

Try http://www.iwmcollections.org.uk/qryImages.php

and then search for Jourdain or Kosturino - either search brings up essentially the same photos but there is the odd extra one or two that come up with each