Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Remembered Today:

Battalion allocation

Guest mythago

I'm pretty new at this so you'll forgive me if these questions are obvious. :rolleyes:

I'm trying to clarify the position of those soldiers who were wounded and had to go back, and also of ORs who obtained commissions.

1. If someone was wounded/sick and hospitalised in France, when they recovered, would they return to their original battalion?

2. If yes, would this still be the case if they had been evacutated to Britain? Or on returning to France would they join a draft going to the first in the queue for reinforcements regardless of whether it was their own battalion or not?

3. Was the case different for officers?

4. Where an OR obtained a commission, would they normally go to a different regiment/battalion? My understanding was yes, but I've come across a reference to someone who started off as a RQMS and ended the war as Captain & QMs in the same battalion.

Thanks for any help

Cas

Cas

I think the short answer to several of your points is "it depends".

The key to whether an OR returned to battalion seems to relate to how long they were away. A quick couple of days or so would see you back with the Battalion. Certainly several months away, you would be up for grabs to whichever battalion was most in need. Not sure how it affects officers.

In general, guys who got commissioned very often went to another battalion of their original regiment, but I don't think there''s a hard & fast rule.

John

Cas,

Have noticed that if wounded earlier in the war, they had a better chance on returning to the same battalion. After 1916 they seem to get sent wherever they were needed.

Jim

Thanks for this, guys. I rather thought the answer might be 'it depends'! :rolleyes: Interesting that the point in the war could make a difference too.

Cas