Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Remembered Today:

Which regiment did Grandad serve in?

GREENDORRIE

I have found my Grandad's WW1 medal card on the web.

He was a private with 7th Bn York R and went to France 13.07.15.

I have looked at various sites to try to identify which regiment he was with,

but I haven't found an exact match to the above. I am new to researching

the army and would appreciate some help.

I think the fact that you have his battalion no. is good. I'll give you a hand looking around the web for experts of the Yorks. Have you visited the battalions website and emailed them? Its the best place to start. The thing you should be looking for is his company no. and platoon no. You'll find these out really easy if he died. Its harder if he survived.

Good luck

Joe

LIke a pack of wolves round here! :o

Don't worry Greendorrie. Everyone is just eager to help.

You can follow his War by follwoing the Division links on the link that has been provided...

Steve.

but I haven't found an exact match to the above. 

Were you possibly misled by the fact that the full title of the Yorkshire Regt was Alexandra, Princess of Wales` Own (Yorkshire Regt), but usually known as the Green Howards? Phil B

but I haven't found an exact match to the above.  I am new to researching

but I haven't found an exact match to the above.  I am new to researching

Thank you for your help Joe.

I know his number from the medal card.

I think the fact that you have his battalion no. is good. I'll give you a hand looking around the web for experts of the Yorks. Have you visited the battalions website and emailed them? Its the best place to start. The thing you should be looking for is his company no. and platoon no. You'll find these out really easy if he died. Its harder if he survived.

Good luck

Joe

Thank you for your help Joe.

I have his number from the medal card.

Luckily he survived the war, otherwise I wouldn't be here.