Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Remembered Today:

What happened to the 9th btn RB

gwendraith

Sorry this is wordy but I thought it was worth telling.

As some of you know,I've been researching my great Uncle Alex for several months (S/10445 Rifleman John Alexander Evans 9th btn Rifle Brigade). I found his service records, had a bit of a hiccup in getting my brain around which regiment he was with (thanks for all your help in the differences between the Rifle Brigade and the London Rifle Brigade btns) and discovered he had a grave in Combles Communal Cemetery Ext.

According to his service records he was killed in action on 13th September1916. The CWGC also list his date of death as 13thSeptember 1916. The war diary for 9th btn RB are practically empty for mid September apart from listing the names of all the officers killed on the 15th. On the 13th the btn were in camp which seemed a bit at odds with KIA.

I wrote to the CWGC to see if they had more information and they gave me a map reference of where he was buried first on the battlefield. This turned out to be just short of Bulls Road between Lesbeoufs and Flers and only 2.5 miles from Combles. It seemed to me much more likely that he was killed on the 15th on the first day of the battle of Flers-Courcelette. I was really frustrated that I didn't know what happened and then I thought I'd nip to London to the NA and look at the war diaries of the btns with 9th RB on that day (9th KRRC, 5th KSLI and 5th Ox and Bucks LI). Nothing of note in the KSLI and Ox and Bucks LI other than a mention of the tanks but the major of the 9th KRRC kept a brilliant diary of the day and saw it all from the advantage point of following the 9th RB.

Here's the extracts from 9th btn KRRC diary for 15th September 1916:

6.20am.Btn moved from Montauban Alley to York Alley behind 9th btn RB.